E1 Norwegian disbursements by year · Norwegian development assistance data (Norad open data)
| Year | Disbursed (NOK) | Agreements | Share of all Norwegian aid to these recipients |
|---|
| 2021 | 23.8 m | 5 | 6.4% |
| 2022 | 24.7 m | 6 | 5.0% |
| 2023 | 24.1 m | 6 | 4.1% |
| 2024 | 14.0 m | 6 | 3.2% |
| 2025 | 17.8 m | 5 | 5.3% |
| Total | 104.4 m | | |
Kenya, Uganda; DAC sectors 231, 232, 236; 2021–2025. Trend: 23.8 m in 2021 → 17.8 m in 2025 (-25%); peak 24.7 m in 2022.
E2 Largest agreement partners · Norwegian development assistance data (Norad open data)
| Partner | Type | Disbursed (NOK) | Agreements | Years |
|---|
| UEGCL - Uganda Electricity Generation Company Limited | Public sector in developing countries | 37.4 m | 2 | 2021–2023 |
| WWF Norge | NGO Norwegian | 23.9 m | 2 | 2021–2025 |
| ERA - Uganda Electricity Regulatory Authority | Public sector in developing countries | 22.5 m | 1 | 2021–2025 |
| Kam Group AS | Norwegian private sector | 9.6 m | 2 | 2023–2025 |
| Uganda Ministry of Finance, Planning and Economic Development | Governments/Ministries in developing countries | 7.5 m | 1 | 2022 |
| PATS - PA Technical Services Ltd. | Private sector in developing countries | 2.5 m | 1 | 2024 |
| Makerere University | Public sector in developing countries | 930 k | 1 | 2021–2023 |
| Stiftelsen SINTEF | NGO Norwegian | 37 k | 1 | 2025 |
Kenya, Uganda; DAC sectors 231, 232, 236; 2021–2025. Agreement partner labels as recorded; not resolved organisation identities.
E3 Channels: who receives the funds · Norwegian development assistance data (Norad open data)
| Partner type | Assistance type | Disbursed (NOK) | Share | Agreements |
|---|
| Public sector in developing countries | Bilateral | 60.8 m | 58% | 4 |
| NGO Norwegian | Bilateral | 24.0 m | 23% | 3 |
| Norwegian private sector | Bilateral | 9.6 m | 9% | 2 |
| Governments/Ministries in developing countries | Bilateral | 7.5 m | 7% | 1 |
| Private sector in developing countries | Bilateral | 2.5 m | 2% | 1 |
Kenya, Uganda; DAC sectors 231, 232, 236; 2021–2025.
E4 What the money is for (sub-sectors) · Norwegian development assistance data (Norad open data)
| Sub-sector | Disbursed (NOK) | Agreements |
|---|
| 10 - Energy policy and administrative management | 46.4 m | 3 |
| 20 - Hydro-electric power plants | 37.4 m | 2 |
| 30 - Electric power transmission and distribution (centralised grids) | 10.0 m | 2 |
| 10 - Energy generation, renewable sources – multiple technologies | 9.6 m | 2 |
| 81 - Energy education/training | 930 k | 1 |
| 82 - Energy research | 37 k | 1 |
Kenya, Uganda; DAC sectors 231, 232, 236; 2021–2025.
E5 Where Norway spends in this sector (recipients) · Norwegian development assistance data (Norad open data)
| Recipient | Disbursed (NOK) | Rank among countries |
|---|
| Global Unspecified | 8,550.1 m | — |
| Ukraine | 7,761.4 m | 1 |
| Moldova | 776.8 m | 2 |
| Mozambique | 415.3 m | 3 |
| Africa Regional | 402.4 m | — |
| Nepal | 387.7 m | 4 |
| Tanzania | 286.6 m | 5 |
| Eastern Africa, regional | 228.8 m | — |
| South of Sahara Regional | 204.1 m | — |
| Uganda | 97.6 m | 6 |
| Kenya | 6.8 m | 25 |
All recipients; DAC sectors 231, 232, 236; 2021–2025. 54 recipients in scope. Regional and unallocated lines (e.g. Global Unspecified) are shown but not ranked.
E6 Policy markers (share of disbursements tagged significant or principal) · Norwegian development assistance data (Norad open data)
| Marker | Share |
|---|
| Gender equality | 6% |
| Climate adaptation | 8% |
| Climate mitigation | 75% |
| Disability inclusion | 0% |
Kenya, Uganda; DAC sectors 231, 232, 236; 2021–2025. Donor-reported OECD policy markers; not outcome evidence.
E7 Largest agreement: UEGCL Institutional Support for Hydropower O&M Excellence · Norwegian development assistance data (Norad open data)
Agreement UGA-18/0001 — "UEGCL Institutional Support for Hydropower O&M Excellence" in Uganda. Partner: UEGCL - Uganda Electricity Generation Company Limited (Public sector in developing countries). Sector: 20 - Hydro-electric power plants. Active 2019–2023; 39.9 m NOK in the selected years; 70.0 m NOK 2015–2025 total.
Description: Support to UEGCL Hydropower Operation and Maintenance Excellence (HOME) Programme. Expected impact: Improved socio-economic development in Uganda through higher availability and access to electricity. The expected effects of the Programme for the target group are (Outcome): i. UEGCL established as a professional operator of its large hydropower plants ii. Increased competence level of UEGCL operation and maintenance staff
E8 Largest agreement: NVE Capacity Building for Electricity Regulatory Authority (ERA) · Norwegian development assistance data (Norad open data)
Agreement UGA-20/0002 — "NVE Capacity Building for Electricity Regulatory Authority (ERA)" in Uganda. Partner: ERA - Uganda Electricity Regulatory Authority (Public sector in developing countries). Sector: 10 - Energy policy and administrative management. Active 2021–2025; 22.5 m NOK in the selected years; 22.5 m NOK 2015–2025 total.
Description: Financial support for Technical Assistance by the Norwegian Water and Energy Directorate (NVE) for Uganda's Electricity Regulatory Authority 2021-24, for safe, efficient, reliable, and sustainable electricity supply in Uganda. The program is primarily aimed at capacity building based on institutional cooperation, through transfer of electricity sector expertise and experience. Planned Outcomes: i) Improved, more effective, transparent and predictable power system; ii) Improved electricity power system operations and quality of supply, with a higher degree of transparency; iiii) Reduction in negative environmental and social impacts of power production and power systems, and improved natural resource sustainability; iv) Awareness of measurements and possibilities for more effective power system.
E9 Largest agreement: Africa Energy Transition - regional coordination (hosted in Uganda) · Norwegian development assistance data (Norad open data)
Agreement QZA-20/0240-1 — "Africa Energy Transition - regional coordination (hosted in Uganda)" in Uganda. Partner: WWF Norge (NGO Norwegian); implementing: WWF - local office. Sector: 10 - Energy policy and administrative management. Active 2021–2025; 17.2 m NOK in the selected years; 17.2 m NOK 2015–2025 total.
Description: The programme aims to drive a just transition from coal and charcoal to renewable energy and clean cooking solutions in three African countries, by: • Addressing national policy and regulatory frameworks for energy • Accelerating regional cross-border trade in renewable energy on and off grid • Facilitating the divestment of African and Chinese financial institutions from coal fired power plants and increasing financial flows to renewable energy, including women-led renewable energy enterprise. The project promotes the green energy transition including reduced use of fossile coal.
E10 Largest agreement: KAM Group AS Green fertiliser Uganda feasibility · Norwegian development assistance data (Norad open data)
Agreement UGA-23/0005 — "KAM Group AS Green fertiliser Uganda feasibility" in Uganda. Partner: Kam Group AS (Norwegian private sector). Sector: 10 - Energy generation, renewable sources – multiple technologies. Active 2024–2025; 8.1 m NOK in the selected years; 8.1 m NOK 2015–2025 total.
Description: Norad will support financing of KAM Group and Westgass's feasibility studies to investigate the potential to utilise excess hydropower for production of clean hydrogen to b used in the production of fertiliser, with a pilot in Northern Uganda. The studies will involve techno-economic assessments, an environmental and social impact assessment, legal an regulatory processes and engagement with relevant authorities, academia, civil society and vendors / suppliers.
E11 Largest agreement: Electrification of Refugee Settlements in Northen Uganda · Norwegian development assistance data (Norad open data)
Agreement UGA-18/0007 — "Electrification of Refugee Settlements in Northen Uganda" in Uganda. Partner: Uganda Ministry of Finance, Planning and Economic Development (Governments/Ministries in developing countries); implementing: Uganda Ministry of Energy and Mineral Development. Sector: 30 - Electric power transmission and distribution (centralised grids). Active 2018–2022; 7.5 m NOK in the selected years; 42.5 m NOK 2015–2025 total.
Description: Agreement with Uganda Government (Ministry of Finance and Economic Planning) regarding electrification of refugee settlemts in Koboko, Yumbe and Adjumani districts in Northern Uganda.
E12 Largest agreement: Africa Energy Transition - Kenya · Norwegian development assistance data (Norad open data)
Agreement QZA-20/0240-2 — "Africa Energy Transition - Kenya" in Kenya. Partner: WWF Norge (NGO Norwegian); implementing: WWF - local office. Sector: 10 - Energy policy and administrative management. Active 2021–2025; 6.8 m NOK in the selected years; 6.8 m NOK 2015–2025 total.
Description: The programme aims to drive a just transition from coal and charcoal to renewable energy and clean cooking solutions in three African countries, by: • Addressing national policy and regulatory frameworks for energy • Accelerating regional cross-border trade in renewable energy on and off grid • Facilitating the divestment of African and Chinese financial institutions from coal fired power plants and increasing financial flows to renewable energy, including women-led renewable energy enterprise
E13 Largest agreement: Powerline upgrade Kigwabya Hydro Power Plant · Norwegian development assistance data (Norad open data)
Agreement UGA-24/0001 — "Powerline upgrade Kigwabya Hydro Power Plant" in Uganda. Partner: PATS - PA Technical Services Ltd. (Private sector in developing countries). Sector: 30 - Electric power transmission and distribution (centralised grids). Active 2024–2024; 2.5 m NOK in the selected years; 2.5 m NOK 2015–2025 total.
Description: PA Technical Services LTD (PATS) has applied for and been awarded Norad financial support for powerline upgrade work required for evacuation of power from Kigwabya Hydro Power Plant under construction in Uganda.
E14 Largest agreement: KAM Group AS feasibility study hydrogen P2P Uganda · Norwegian development assistance data (Norad open data)
Agreement UGA-22/0006 — "KAM Group AS feasibility study hydrogen P2P Uganda" in Uganda. Partner: Kam Group AS (Norwegian private sector). Sector: 10 - Energy generation, renewable sources – multiple technologies. Active 2023–2024; 1.5 m NOK in the selected years; 1.5 m NOK 2015–2025 total.
Description: Norad will support financing of KAM Group and Westgass's feasibility studies to investigate the potential for power-to-power through green hydrogen electrification, with a pilot in Northern Uganda. The studies will involve a techno-economic assessment, an overview of regulatory ans safety measures of the West Nile region of Uganda, and assess the needed resources.
E15 Largest agreement: Support to Renewable Energy Business Incubator (REBI) · Norwegian development assistance data (Norad open data)
Agreement UGA-16/0012 — "Support to Renewable Energy Business Incubator (REBI)" in Uganda. Partner: Makerere University (Public sector in developing countries). Sector: 81 - Energy education/training. Active 2017–2023; 930 k NOK in the selected years; 7.7 m NOK 2015–2025 total.
Description: Vocational training to develop entrepreneurial skills and foster business development and entreneurship within the renewable energy value chain.
E16 Largest agreement: Norec, FK Norway, personnell exchange · Norwegian development assistance data (Norad open data)
Agreement FK-146401 — "Norec, FK Norway, personnell exchange" in Uganda. Partner: Stiftelsen SINTEF (NGO Norwegian). Sector: 82 - Energy research. Active 2025–2025; 37 k NOK in the selected years; 37 k NOK 2015–2025 total.
Description: Feasability study to map areas for exchange of personell and collaboration for learning.
E17 Related project (semantic match): Equity Group Foundation Kenya · Norwegian development assistance data (Norad open data)
Agreement KEN-17/0008 — "Equity Group Foundation Kenya" in Kenya. Partner: Equity Group Foundation (Private sector in developing countries). Sector: 20 - Agricultural development. Active 2018–2024; 45.7 m NOK 2015–2025 total.
Description: Financial Access to SME and rural population in agriculture using technolgy. The project will focus on encouraging women to participate in the program activities in the various parts of the agricultural value chain where women are a significant part of the labour force and should have better access to productive resources such as land, credit and education/training.
E18 Who else funds this: all official donors (OECD CRS) · OECD DAC Creditor Reporting System
Open the source ↗
| Rank | Donor | 2019 (USD m) | 2020 (USD m) | 2021 (USD m) | 2022 (USD m) | 2023 (USD m) | 2024 (USD m) | Share |
|---|
| 1 | International Development Association [IDA] | 202.6 | 108.8 | 314.2 | 188.7 | 113.2 | 153.5 | 52% |
| 2 | Japan | 151.0 | 68.4 | 37.7 | 18.2 | 31.7 | 11.5 | 15% |
| 3 | Germany | 16.6 | 14.7 | 43.0 | 36.1 | 37.6 | 14.3 | 8% |
| 4 | EU Institutions | 2.7 | 32.6 | 38.0 | 16.7 | 19.0 | 32.3 | 7% |
| 5 | France | 43.9 | 38.0 | 10.2 | 16.5 | 2.1 | 15.5 | 6% |
| 6 | African Development Fund [AfDF] | 22.1 | 10.7 | 9.2 | 11.8 | 16.5 | 9.0 | 4% |
| 7 | Sweden | 3.5 | 4.0 | 2.8 | 4.3 | 7.9 | 10.2 | 2% |
| 8 | OPEC Fund for International Development [OPEC Fund] | 1.2 | 4.5 | 1.0 | 7.7 | 3.0 | 2.1 | 1% |
| 9 | United Kingdom | 7.7 | 2.4 | 3.2 | 0.7 | 1.1 | 3.2 | 1% |
| 10 | United States | 8.5 | 4.8 | 1.4 | 0.6 | 0.2 | 2.5 | 1% |
| 11 | Norway | 5.5 | 2.3 | 2.8 | 2.8 | 2.3 | 1.3 | 1% |
| All official donors | 474.4 | 302.0 | 473.7 | 317.2 | 242.3 | 262.3 | 100% |
OECD Creditor Reporting System, gross disbursements, current USD millions; recipients KEN, UGA (combined); DAC sectors 231, 232, 236; retrieved 2026-09-24. 39 individual donors report in scope. Latest OECD year lags national data. All official donors: Trend: USD 474.4m in 2019 → USD 262.3m in 2024 (-45%); peak USD 474.4m in 2019. International Development Association [IDA]: Trend: USD 202.6m in 2019 → USD 153.5m in 2024 (-24%); peak USD 314.2m in 2021. Japan: Trend: USD 151.0m in 2019 → USD 11.5m in 2024 (-92%); peak USD 151.0m in 2019. Germany: Trend: USD 16.6m in 2019 → USD 14.3m in 2024 (-14%); peak USD 43.0m in 2021.
E19 Other donors' largest projects in scope (OECD CRS, 2023 to 2024) · OECD Creditor Reporting System (project-level records)
Open the source ↗
| Donor | Project | Channel of delivery | Recipient | Disbursed (USD m) |
|---|
| International Development Association [IDA] | Kenya Green and Resilient Expansion of Energy Program | Recipient Government | Kenya | 80.3 |
| International Development Association [IDA] | Electricity Access Scale-up Project (EASP) | Recipient Government | Uganda | 64.0 |
| International Bank for Reconstruction and Development [IBRD] | Fiscal Sustainability and Inclusive Green Growth (FIGG) Development Policy Operation | Recipient Government | Kenya | 50.0 |
| International Development Association [IDA] | Fiscal Sustainability and Inclusive Green Growth (FIGG) Development Policy Operation | Recipient Government | Kenya | 50.0 |
| International Development Association [IDA] | Uganda Grid Expansion and Reinforcement Project (GERP) | Recipient Government | Uganda | 31.5 |
| Germany | Mezzanine Finance in Biogas power plants | Other non-financial corporations (in third country) | Kenya | 30.2 |
| Germany | Long term debt in Hydro-electric power plants | Other non-financial corporations (in recipient country) | Uganda | 29.9 |
| Islamic Development Bank [IsDB] | 132kV Mirama-Kabale Transmission Line and Distribution Project | Central Government (recipient govt.) | Uganda | 23.1 |
| EU Institutions | OLKARIA I GEOTHERMAL EXTENSION | Central Government (recipient govt.) | Kenya | 21.8 |
| African Development Bank [AfDB] | UGANDA RURAL ELECTRICITY ACCESS PROJECT | Recipient Government | Uganda | 20.2 |
| Japan | Kampala Metropolitan Transmission System Improvement | Recipient Government | Uganda | 19.5 |
| Germany | Steam Field Development Bogoria-Silali Block | Central Government (recipient govt.) | Kenya | 19.5 |
OECD CRS project-level records, gross disbursements 2023 to 2024, current USD millions; recipients KEN, UGA; DAC sectors 231, 232, 236; Norway excluded (see the Norwegian data); retrieved 2026-09-24. 268 projects from 41 donors report in scope. Titles and descriptions are donor-reported; a project may cover more than the sector named.
E20 Other donor's project: Promotion of mini-grids for rural electrification (Germany) · OECD Creditor Reporting System (project-level records)
Open the source ↗
Donor: Germany. Channel of delivery: Public corporations (donor govt.). Recipient: Uganda. Purpose: Energy generation, renewable sources - multiple technologies. Disbursed USD 0.2m in 2023 to 2024.
Description (donor-reported): ContextUganda has great potential for generating power from renewable sources such as solar, hydro, biomass, and wind. However, only about five per cent of the population has access to any kind of electricity, with around 24 per cent of them accessing electricity for more than four hours per day. Outside the cities, where 70 per cent of the population lives, the rate of electrification is a mere 38 per cent. This presents a major barrier to economic development and poverty reduction.The Government of Uganda seeks to promote private investment for mini grids in Uganda, as they offer a viable solution to insufficient access to electricity. Mini grids can supply reliable and grid-like electricity in most villages where grid extension is unaffordable. The policy and regulatory framework for mini grids however still needs to be developed to enable mini grid projects to reach the necessary sca
E21 Other donor's project: Advisor for business development and capacity building in a climate action project in Masaka, Uganda (Austria) · OECD Creditor Reporting System (project-level records)
Open the source ↗
Donor: Austria. Channel of delivery: Donor country-based NGO. Recipient: Uganda. Purpose: Energy conservation and demand-side efficiency. Disbursed USD 0.0m in 2024.
Description (donor-reported): The advisory assignment is embedded within the Caritas MADDO Carbon Project and aims to enhance the organisation's capacity to develop a sustainable business model based on carbon finance. The advisor will provide guidance and capacity-building support at all levels, ensuring that Caritas MADDO is well-equipped to implement its carbon finance-based initiatives effectively. Caritas MADDO operates the project 'Efficient and Healthy Cooking in Masaka Diocese,' which seeks to replace traditional cooking stoves with energy-efficient alternatives in rural and suburban households across six districts in southwestern Uganda. This initiative directly contributes to reducing firewood consumption, improving indoor air quality, and promoting better cooking and health conditions for local families. Additionally, Caritas MADDO is in the process of establishing a separate eco-friendly business model un
E22 Other donor's project: Beyond the Grid Fund for Africa - Beyond the Grid Fund for Africa - Uganda (Sweden) · OECD Creditor Reporting System (project-level records)
Open the source ↗
Donor: Sweden. Channel of delivery: Other multilateral institutions. Recipient: Uganda. Purpose: Energy generation, renewable sources - multiple technologies. Disbursed USD 5.2m in 2023 to 2024.
Description (donor-reported): The Beyond the Grid Fund for Africa (BGFA) is a planned expansion and scale up of an innovative, results-based initiative incentivising private sector to provide affordable, efficient, high quality, renewable energy services to underserved people in off-grid rural and peri-urban areas that builds on experience of the Beyond the Grid Fund for Zambia. Sida's proposed support to BGFA includes, Burkina Faso, Liberia, Mozambique, Zambia, Uganda and the Democratic Republic of Congo. BGFA aims to reach 5-15 million people with clean, renewable and reliable energy services. BGFA is designed to stimulate and accelerate the emergence of new business models for provision of affordable energy access at scale whilst demonstrating sustainability over time. The BGFA particularly supports the objectives of the Sustainable Development Goal 7 (SDG 7), which aims to ensure access to affordable, reliable, s
E23 Other donor's project: Improving Affordability and Reliability of Energy Access in Uganda with River Turbines (United Kingdom) · OECD Creditor Reporting System (project-level records)
Open the source ↗
Donor: United Kingdom. Channel of delivery: University, college or other teaching institution, research institute or think-tank. Recipient: Uganda. Purpose: Energy generation, renewable sources - multiple technologies. Disbursed USD 0.2m in 2023.
Description (donor-reported): **Improving Affordability and Reliability of Energy Access in Uganda with River Turbines**This study will show how novel hydro-kinetic river turbines can be a valuable addition to the portfolio of solutions that can be used to accelerate energy access and improve the quality of life for poor, rural communities in Uganda.The emergence of small, efficient, free-stream, hydro-kinetic turbines capable of economically generating electricity from the speed of fast-flowing water is a new development. It uses technology transferred from the offshore tidal energy sector, in which the UK has been a world-leader since it began, about twenty years ago. Hydro-kinetic technology is fundamentally different to conventional hydropower that extracts energy from rivers as they drop through a height, or 'head'. Conventional hydropower is cost effective and reliable at a large scale supplying power to nation
E24 Other donor's project: African SCENe: Sustainable Community Energy Networks (United Kingdom) · OECD Creditor Reporting System (project-level records)
Open the source ↗
Donor: United Kingdom. Channel of delivery: Private sector in provider country. Recipient: Kenya. Purpose: Energy generation, renewable sources - multiple technologies. Disbursed USD 0.2m in 2024.
Description (donor-reported): African SCENe (Sustainable Community Energy Networks) is a 12-month feasibility study that will enable the characterisation and identification of schools within low-income suburban communities in Nairobi that have the potential to become clean energy hubs through innovative business models.These energy hubs will be capable of generating, storing and distributing clean energy for the community they serve, accelerating access to adequate, affordable, and reliable renewable energy in Kenya, whilst enhancing energy awareness and education, The proposed business models will remove the financial and technical burden from the schools, in line with learnings from past projects developed by the partners. Given challenges around grid reliability and supply, African SCENe will investigate how the business model could be defined to co-exist within the existing and future energy structures. Key to th
E25 Other donor's project: African SCENe: Sustainable Community Energy Networks (United Kingdom) · OECD Creditor Reporting System (project-level records)
Open the source ↗
Donor: United Kingdom. Channel of delivery: University, college or other teaching institution, research institute or think-tank. Recipient: Kenya. Purpose: Energy generation, renewable sources - multiple technologies. Disbursed USD 0.1m in 2023.
Description (donor-reported): African SCENe (Sustainable Community Energy Networks) is a 12-month feasibility study that will enable the characterisation and identification of schools within low-income suburban communities in Nairobi that have the potential to become clean energy hubs through innovative business models.These energy hubs will be capable of generating, storing and distributing clean energy for the community they serve, accelerating access to adequate, affordable, and reliable renewable energy in Kenya, whilst enhancing energy awareness and education, The proposed business models will remove the financial and technical burden from the schools, in line with learnings from past projects developed by the partners. Given challenges around grid reliability and supply, African SCENe will investigate how the business model could be defined to co-exist within the existing and future energy structures. Key to th
E26 Private finance mobilised by official development finance (OECD) · OECD, mobilised private finance for development
Open the source ↗
| Mechanism | 2022 (USD m) | 2023 (USD m) | 2024 (USD m) |
|---|
| Direct investment in companies and SPVs | 237.6 | 139.0 | 786.1 |
| Guarantees | 326.4 | 50.8 | 401.3 |
| Credit lines | 19.7 | 151.2 | 271.1 |
| Syndicated loans | 45.2 | 113.7 | 58.8 |
| Simple co-financing | 34.2 | 23.1 | 111.0 |
| Shares in investment funds (CIVs) | 18.0 | 16.6 | 11.0 |
| All mechanisms, all sectors | 681.2 | 494.4 | 1,639.3 |
| In this brief's sectors (231, 232, 236) | 50.5 | 12.4 | 208.4 |
| of which by multilateral banks and funds | 475.5 | 285.5 | 600.7 |
| of which by bilateral donors (DAC) | 205.7 | 208.9 | 1,038.6 |
OECD, mobilised private finance for development; recipients Kenya, Uganda (combined); current USD millions; retrieved 2026-09-24. Private money that official donors and development banks brought into projects through guarantees, loans, equity and co-financing. Published for groups of providers only, not per institution. Guarantees: Trend: USD 326.4m in 2022 → USD 401.3m in 2024 (+23%); peak USD 401.3m in 2024.
E27 Donors' total aid (net ODA), all recipients (2021 to 2025, 2025 provisional) · OECD DAC1 (includes preliminary data)
Open the source ↗
| Donor | 2021 (USD m) | 2022 (USD m) | 2023 (USD m) | 2024 (USD m) | 2025 (USD m) provisional |
|---|
| Japan | 15,767.0 | 16,747.3 | 18,661.9 | 15,245.9 | 13,523.6 |
| Germany | 32,455.6 | 36,444.6 | 41,253.3 | 33,249.3 | 28,032.0 |
| EU Institutions | 20,639.1 | 27,165.9 | 37,544.2 | 35,654.1 | 52,904.8 |
| France | 16,721.9 | 17,560.9 | 15,862.0 | 15,073.8 | 13,905.7 |
| Sweden | 5,937.6 | 5,463.8 | 5,481.9 | 4,829.0 | 5,769.2 |
| United Kingdom | 16,277.8 | 15,761.3 | 18,615.7 | 16,269.5 | 16,365.1 |
| United States | 47,528.2 | 60,328.7 | 64,461.9 | 65,336.8 | 29,021.9 |
| Norway | 4,673.0 | 5,161.0 | 5,292.9 | 4,905.3 | 5,156.8 |
OECD DAC1, net ODA disbursements to all recipients and sectors, current USD millions; retrieved 2026-09-24. Shows each donor's overall aid, not its spending in this country or sector. 2025 figures are the OECD's preliminary estimates of aid already disbursed that year (not forecasts) and may be revised. Japan: USD 15,245.9m in 2024 → USD 13,523.6m in 2025 (-11% in one year). Germany: USD 33,249.3m in 2024 → USD 28,032.0m in 2025 (-16% in one year). EU Institutions: USD 35,654.1m in 2024 → USD 52,904.8m in 2025 (+48% in one year). France: USD 15,073.8m in 2024 → USD 13,905.7m in 2025 (-8% in one year). Sweden: USD 4,829.0m in 2024 → USD 5,769.2m in 2025 (+19% in one year). The same donors in this country and sector (OECD CRS, gross disbursements; ends earlier): Japan: USD 151.0m in 2019 → USD 11.5m in 2024. Germany: USD 16.6m in 2019 → USD 14.3m in 2024. EU Institutions: USD 2.7m in 2019 → USD 32.3m in 2024. France: USD 43.9m in 2019 → USD 15.5m in 2024. Sweden: USD 3.5m in 2019 → USD 10.2m in 2024. United Kingdom: USD 7.7m in 2019 → USD 3.2m in 2024. United States: USD 8.5m in 2019 → USD 2.5m in 2024. Norway: USD 5.5m in 2019 → USD 1.3m in 2024.
E28 Crisis risk: INFORM Risk Index 2026 · INFORM Risk Index (EU Joint Research Centre)
Open the source ↗
| Country | INFORM Risk 2026 (0-10) | Class | Rank (1 = highest risk) | Hazard & exposure | Vulnerability | Lack of coping capacity | INFORM Risk 2022 |
|---|
| Kenya | 6.1 | High | 26 of 191 | 6.9 | 6.3 | 5.1 | 5.7 |
| Uganda | 6.6 | Very high | 20 of 191 | 6.5 | 6.9 | 6.5 | 6.0 |
INFORM Risk Index 2026, EU Joint Research Centre with IASC partners; retrieved 2026-09-24. Scores 0-10, higher means a higher risk that a humanitarian crisis overwhelms national capacity; the earlier score is from the published edition of that year, whose method differed slightly. Kenya: the highest of the three dimensions is Hazard & exposure (6.9); read the score through that dimension. Kenya: INFORM Risk 5.7 in 2022 → 6.1 in 2026 (High → High). Uganda: the highest of the three dimensions is Vulnerability (6.9); read the score through that dimension. Uganda: INFORM Risk 6.0 in 2022 → 6.6 in 2026 (High → Very high).
E29 Humanitarian crisis severity: INFORM Severity - August 2026 · ACAPS INFORM Severity Index (via HDX)
Open the source ↗
| Country | Crisis | Drivers | Severity (1-10) | Category | Trend (last 3 months) | Complexity (1-10) | Data reliability |
|---|
| Kenya | Drought in ASAL areas of Kenya | Drought/drier conditions | 6.9 | High | Increasing | 5.1 | Medium |
| Uganda | International Displacement to Uganda | International Displacement | 6.1 | High | Increasing | 5.4 | Medium |
| Kenya | International displacement to Kenya | International Displacement | 5.9 | Medium | Increasing | 4.5 | High |
| Uganda | Food Security Crisis in Karamoja Region | Drought/drier conditions | 5.1 | Medium | new or no trend | 4.6 | Medium |
ACAPS INFORM Severity Index, monthly edition published on the Humanitarian Data Exchange; retrieved 2026-09-24. It rates the severity of ongoing crises (impact, conditions of people affected, complexity); countries without an active crisis are not listed.
E30 Humanitarian access constraints: ACAPS, Sep 2026 · ACAPS Humanitarian Access
Open the source ↗
| Country | Crisis | Access constraints (0-5) | Level | People's access to aid | Aid actors' access to people | Security and physical constraints | Strongest constraints |
|---|
| Kenya | Multiple crises in Kenya | 2 | Moderate | 3 | 0 | 3 | physical constraints (terrain, climate, infrastructure) |
| Kenya | International displacement to Kenya | 2 | Moderate | 3 | 0 | 3 | physical constraints (terrain, climate, infrastructure) |
| Kenya | Drought in ASAL areas of Kenya | 1 | Low | 0 | 1 | 3 | physical constraints (terrain, climate, infrastructure) |
| Uganda | Multiple crises in Uganda | 3 | High | 3 | 2 | 3 | physical constraints (terrain, climate, infrastructure) |
| Uganda | International Displacement to Uganda | 3 | High | 3 | 2 | 3 | physical constraints (terrain, climate, infrastructure) |
| Uganda | Food Security Crisis in Karamoja Region | 1 | Low | 0 | 1 | 3 | physical constraints (terrain, climate, infrastructure) |
ACAPS Humanitarian Access dataset, Sep 2026 edition (API); retrieved 2026-09-24. Scores 0 (no constraints) to 5 (extreme), from three pillars and nine indicators; countries without a tracked crisis are not listed. Kenya: the most constrained crisis is Multiple crises in Kenya (2 of 5, Moderate). Uganda: the most constrained crisis is Multiple crises in Uganda (3 of 5, High).
E31 Displacement: people hosted (2025, UNHCR) · UNHCR Refugee Population Statistics
Open the source ↗
| Country | Year | Refugees hosted | Asylum seekers | Internally displaced |
|---|
| Kenya | 2025 | 617,125 | 218,646 | not reported |
| Uganda | 2025 | 1,936,719 | 35,249 | not reported |
UNHCR Refugee Population Statistics API, end-year figures by country of asylum; retrieved 2026-09-24. Internally displaced counts cover people UNHCR protects or assists and may be zero where it does not report them.
E32 Economic outlook (IMF World Economic Outlook) · IMF World Economic Outlook
Open the source ↗
| Country | Measure | 2025 | 2026 (projection) | 2027 (projection) |
|---|
| Kenya | Real GDP growth (%) | 4.9 | 4.5 | 4.7 |
| Uganda | Real GDP growth (%) | 6.7 | 7.5 | 8.2 |
| Kenya | Inflation, average consumer prices (%) | 4.1 | 5.9 | 5.9 |
| Uganda | Inflation, average consumer prices (%) | 3.6 | 4.0 | 4.9 |
| Kenya | Government gross debt (% of GDP) | 69.3 | 71.6 | 72.4 |
| Uganda | Government gross debt (% of GDP) | 54.2 | 55.0 | 54.4 |
IMF World Economic Outlook via the DataMapper API; retrieved 2026-09-24. 2026 and 2027 are IMF projections and are revised twice a year.
E33 Recent disaster alerts (GDACS, 2025-09-24 to 2026-09-24) · GDACS (UN OCHA and EU Joint Research Centre)
Open the source ↗
| Country | Hazard | Alerts | Highest alert level | Date of highest alert | Latest alert (any level) |
|---|
| Kenya | Flood | 7 | Green | 2026-09-12 | 2026-09-12 |
| Kenya | Drought | 3 | Orange | 2026-05-21 | 2026-05-21 |
| Kenya | Wildfire | 1 | Green | 2026-09-02 | 2026-09-02 |
| Uganda | Wildfire | 10 | Green | 2026-08-23 | 2026-08-23 |
| Uganda | Flood | 3 | Green | 2026-09-20 | 2026-09-20 |
| Uganda | Drought | 2 | Orange | 2026-05-21 | 2026-05-21 |
Global Disaster Alert and Coordination System (UN OCHA and EU Joint Research Centre), automatic near-real-time alerts; retrieved 2026-09-24. Green = limited expected impact, Orange = moderate, Red = severe; one disaster can raise several alerts. Kenya orange/red alerts: Drought in Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Sudan, Somalia, South Sudan, Uganda (Orange, 2026-04-21); Drought in Democratic Republic of Congo, Kenya, Tanzania, Uganda (Orange, 2026-05-21); Drought in Kenya, Somalia (Orange, 2025-05-21). Uganda orange/red alerts: Drought in Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Sudan, Somalia, South Sudan, Uganda (Orange, 2026-04-21); Drought in Democratic Republic of Congo, Kenya, Tanzania, Uganda (Orange, 2026-05-21).
E34 Governance and investment climate · World Bank Worldwide Governance Indicators
Open the source ↗
| Country | Measure | Score | Year | Score 2019 |
|---|
| Kenya | Control of corruption | 32 | 2024 | 31 |
| Kenya | Political stability and absence of violence | 43 | 2024 | 48 |
| Kenya | Regulatory quality | 50 | 2024 | 49 |
| Kenya | Government effectiveness | 46 | 2024 | 46 |
| Kenya | Rule of law | 49 | 2024 | 47 |
| Kenya | Voice and accountability | 51 | 2024 | 48 |
| Kenya | FDI net inflows (% of GDP) | 0.4 | 2024 | |
| Uganda | Control of corruption | 25 | 2024 | 26 |
| Uganda | Political stability and absence of violence | 48 | 2024 | 53 |
| Uganda | Regulatory quality | 47 | 2024 | 47 |
| Uganda | Government effectiveness | 45 | 2024 | 41 |
| Uganda | Rule of law | 44 | 2024 | 44 |
| Uganda | Voice and accountability | 39 | 2024 | 42 |
| Uganda | FDI net inflows (% of GDP) | 6.0 | 2024 | |
World Bank Worldwide Governance Indicators (scores 0-100, higher is better; perception-based composites with wide margins of error) and World Development Indicators for FDI; retrieved 2026-09-24. WGI scores rank countries relative to each other; small differences are not meaningful.
E35 Country indicators — Kenya, Uganda · World Bank World Development Indicators
Open the source ↗
| Country | Indicator | Value | Year |
|---|
| Kenya | Access to electricity (% of population) | 77.0 | 2024 |
| Kenya | GDP per capita (current US$) | 2,363 | 2025 |
| Kenya | Poverty headcount at $3.00/day (% of population) | 45.5 | 2022 |
| Kenya | Basic drinking water services (% of population) | 65.6 | 2024 |
| Kenya | Total greenhouse gas emissions excl. land use (Mt CO2e) | 102.8 | 2024 |
| Uganda | Access to electricity (% of population) | 55.3 | 2024 |
| Uganda | GDP per capita (current US$) | 1,206 | 2025 |
| Uganda | Poverty headcount at $3.00/day (% of population) | 59.8 | 2019 |
| Uganda | Basic drinking water services (% of population) | 63.0 | 2024 |
| Uganda | Total greenhouse gas emissions excl. land use (Mt CO2e) | 57.3 | 2024 |
World Bank World Development Indicators, most recent value; retrieved 2026-09-24. Most recent non-empty year differs by indicator.